Photo Assistants 1st, 2nd, 3rd

If you are a Photo Assistant in the Chicago area and want to be listed on this page, please contact us.

1st Assistant

Experience level is the highest.  You are familiar with just about all lighting sources on the market, familiar with just about all grip gear and nomenclature associated with the job.  You are able to handle jobs by yourself if needed and able to anticipate and communicate photographers needs while being to direct 2nd and 3rd assistants.

(click on name to send an email)

Name Telephone Website
Derick Smith 773-209-7028 N/A
Craig Bender 219-608-2854 N/A
Tim Blokel 708-837-7952 www.stickdigital.net
Bob Wolgemuth 312-925-9759 N/A
John Jennings 630-853-4120 www.jenningsjohn.com
Ryan Bringas 630-864-7209 www.ryanbringas.com
Naomi Chu 773-817-1626 www.nchuphoto.com
John Burdett 312-882-1863 N/A
Scott Curtis 312-656-9687 N/A
Aaron Fulnecky 574-536-3324 N/A
Mike Shimer 630-430-7438 N/A
Kristina Archer 734-776-3064 N/A
Mark J. Doddato 708-207-0366 www.markdoddato.com
Evan Barr 269-330-4615 www.evanbarr.com
Brent Misner 773-895-0163 N/A
Sarah Crump 312-912-3712 www.sarahcrump.com
Sheri Flynn 312-307-0441 www.flynnworks.com
Kristie Kahns 312-217-4261 www.kristiekahns.com
Donte Tatum 312-399-4330 N/A
A J Kane 312-848-7376 N/A
Benji Aird 770-362-2729 www.airdography.com
Cristen Leifheit 630-664-5915 N/A
Thomas Vangel 773-301-2222 www.thomasvangel.com
Joe Bankmann 773-793-0287 www.joebankmann.com
Lauren Butterfield 206-660-9126 N/A
Travas Machel 724-350-9858 www.travasmachel.com
Ben Speckmann 312-909-8826 N/A
Jon Wes 407-461-6113 www.jonwes.com
Dub Swinehart 646-281-5377 www.dubswinehart.com
John Ruzich 219-308-5069 www.johnruzich.com
Courtney Rader 937-304-3205 N/A
Jose M. Necerra 512-484-2401 cargocollective.com/josembecerra
Nathanael Filbert 312-504-9795 N/A
Joanna Baum 312-576-2452 www.jcastanedaphotography.com
Austin M. Sosa 805-722-8085 www.sosaphoto.com
Lucas Anti 562-522-0828 N/A
Josh Darr 773-727-8845 www.slowlife-exhibit.tumblr.com
John Stock 973-650-3215 www.johnstock.us
Nathan Steinbach 815-440-7407 www.nathansteinbach.com
Justin Butzen 630-388-9772 www.justinbutzen.com
Robert Carani 312-469-0620 www.rcarani.com
Luke Schneider 847-226-3613 www.lukeschneiderphotography.com
Elizabeth Monge 773-414-4659 www.elizabethmongephoto.com
Anne Klemmer 630-624-4314 N/A
Josh P. Groth 262-573-0321 www.joshpgroth.com
Marina Paul 872-232-9367 www.marinapaulphotography.com
Olivia Kohler 734-945-9867 www.oliviakohlerphotography.com
Amilcar Cabrera 917-519-6476 www.amilcarphotography.com

2nd Assistant

Medium experience.  You have worked on jobs previously as a third assistant and are familiar with popular lighting sources, grip gear and nomenclature.  If called upon, you would be able to 1st assist if necessary.

 (click on name to send an email)

Name Telephone Website
Aleks Tomaszewska 773-332-6011 N/A
Matthew Kutz 414-940-8375 N/A
John Laning 773-801-8171 N/A
Adam Daniels 312-504-0728 www.adamdaniels.com
Rick Majewski 602-705-7008 www.rickmajewski.com
Christopher Semel 407-756-0441 www.christophersemel.com
Jeff Catt 281-732-5407 www.jeffcatt.com
Josh Marrah 765-437-6147 www.jwmarrah.com
Will Nunnally 757-660-9256 www.willnunnally.com
Carlos Soria 773-746-6979 N/A
Brandon Farrington 440-334-7098 www.brandonfarrington.com
Chris Drake 540-320-8255 N/A
Michael R. Schmidt 847-769-3945 www.michaelrschmidtphotography.com
Whitney Hsieh 630-742-1574 www.whitneyhsiehphotography.com
Sam Phillipe 217-891-9433 N/A
Ben Pegram 630-306-1311 N/A
Powell Jordano 773-899-5376 www.powelljordano.com
Will Hartman 480-324-6261 N/A
Alison Boshert-Downs 513-519-9794 www.boschertdownsphotography.com
Brittany Purlee 812-279-0699 www.britography.com
Josh Beavers 864-607-0903 www.joshbeavers.com
Se Collier 502-298-8654 www.seanccollier.com
Brandon Fields 312-505-4028 www.bfieldsphoto.com
Anthony Soave 773-451-5437 www.anthonysoavephotography.com
Christopher Marrs 630-276-8922 www.christophermarrs.net
Krysta Williams 773-343-5938 www.krystaannwilliams.com
Aaron Ehinger 773-949-7131 www.aaronehingerphotography.com
Jonathan Samaniego 813-898-7375 www.jonathansamaniego.com
Dan Herman 636-584-5224 N/A
Erica Jones 618-401-2404 N/A
Bradley Danner 772-485-3450 www.braddanner.com
Carrie Lejjena 417-813-9570 N/A
Kevin Serna 224-587-5755 www.kevinserna.net
Ryan Schorr 847-508-3519 www.ryanschorr.com
Jennifer Guitian 715-556-9087 www.jenniferguitianphoto.com
Melanie Bert 312-522-5712 www.melaniebert.com
Scarlett Strickland 313-434-7595 www.katiescarlettartist.com
Matt Schwerin 815-985-9570 www.mattschwerin.com
Alessandro Medici 312-576-4500 www.sandro.work
Oscar Torres 714-335-2914 www.oscartorresphoto.com

 3rd Assistant

Low experience.  You are breaking into the field or have assisted on some photo jobs.  You are learning the ins and outs of the profession and are able to take direction from 1st or 2nd assistants.  The positions are continually requested if there is no 2nd assistant and will work directly for the 1st assistant.

(click on name to send an email)

4th Assistant

Willing to hustle and run for things.  Able to retrieve items as requested and does not need to be kept on a short leash.  Responds well to given commands by the 1st, 2nd and 3rd Assistants.  The fourth assistants bark is never worse than their bite.

(click on name to donate to ASPCA)

Stache and Charlotte
Stache and Charlotte
Jax
Jax
Ruby
Ruby
Zoe
Zoe
Izzy
Izzy
Hercules and Ninja
Hercules and Ninja
Eva
Eva